Danish Network for Women in Physics honorary award – The KIF Prize 2018

(Download KIF Prize announcement as PDF).

The KIF Prize is awarded annually to raise awareness about the importance of women in physics. The prize should help identify female physicists as role models at universities as well as at high schools and in society and business. With the prize comes 5.000kr for the awarded person.

Who can be nominated?

A woman working within the physical sciences (physics, engineering) who is a role model for other women within physics. The candidate must either be Danish or residing and/or working in Denmark.

Nomination Procedure

Candidates for the award may be nominated by a boss, supervisor, mentor, colleague, student or fellow student.

  • Nominations are to be sent to mail@kvinderifysik.dk
  • Nominations are to be received at the latest 12.00 on Monday, September 10th, 2018.
  • Nominations should contain:
    1. Motivation letter (maximum of 2 pages)
    2. Candidate’s CV including name and contact information (maximum of 1 page)

Motivation letter

The motivation letter should emphasize why the candidate is considered a role model and could include academic achievements, work-related achievements, dissemination and outreach efforts, volunteer work within the physics community etc.

Evaluation Committee

All candidates will be assessed by an external committee consisting of:

  • Professor Jan Thomsen, Copenhagen University
  • Professor Stine Korreman, Aarhus University
  • Head of IP management Karin Nordström Dyvelkov, GEA Group

Further information

The prize is supported by funds from the Royal Danish Academy of Sciences and Letters put at its disposition by Lene Hau.

Questions can be made to mail@kvinderifysik.dk, and will be answered by a member of the KIF board.

The winner will be notified in writing (via email) and her name will be announced at the KIF annual meeting on October 10th 2018, at the Geological Museum, Øster Voldgade 5-7, 1350 København K, where the award ceremony will take place.
The winner will be invited to give a talk at the annual meeting.